Friday, July 1, 2011

High Germany

England was involved in several wars on the continent. In 1702 England and The Netherlands declared war on France and Spain. England's involvement in the War of Spanish Succession lasted until 1711. In 1718 Britain entered into the Quadruple Alliance with France, the Netherlands, and the Holy Roman Emperor in opposition to Philip V of Spain. In 1725 Great Britain was again involved with war on the continent. One source dates this to the Seven Years' War (1756-1763). The Seven Years' War was fought between a coalition of Austria, France, Russia, Sweden and Saxony and Prussia (led by Frederick the Great). England allied with Prussia. The American theater of the Seven Years' War is known as the French and Indian War.

No comments:

Post a Comment